Within a week

This time last week I was in London, most likely staring up at the Shell building and having a surprisingly enjoyable conversation about the Internet of Things. One week on and I’m sat at a laptop, doing some admin and filing the notes I just made from the first chapter of Ina Zweiniger-Bargielowska’s text Women in Twentieth-Century Britain.

It’s strange going from non-stop work and work experience to unemployment in the space of a few days. By Tuesday I was going slightly stir crazy and tried to join the gym, yet failed due to an extortionate joining fee. I’ve come to the realisation that the only other people I’ve seen for any length of time all week are my parents, although last week I was in the same position, except with my work colleagues.

However, that is not to say I haven’t been keeping busy: deadline day for the Orbital is looming, the autumn term draws ever closer, and summer camp is in less than a month. Plus, there is always tidying and a need to simply rest (the latter of which is more prevalent that the former!)

In 200 words, I’ve said a lot whilst barely saying anything. Part of me wants to rewrite this, but the more dominant part is keeping it. Ultimately change is unsettling, and perhaps that has inspired the haphazard nature of this, but change doesn’t have to be damaging and often it can be the memories of the good times that push you into making the most of every new situation.

Leave a Reply

