Farewell to Insanity (for now…)

Yesterday I closed the door to the media suite for the last time before the SU shuts for a lot of the summer. In ten weeks time I am going to return with a sudden realisation that this is the longest I will have spent away from the media suite since I started my involvement with Insanity Radio 103.2FM last October.

The suite is both a fantastic place and also a curse. Clocking in 10 hours a day on certain occasions, it’s not always a healthy place to spend time, particularly when spending time there ends up dragging you into helping with projects which are nothing to do with your role. One case study is that of Insanity’s involvement with E3, the Electronic Entertainment Expo in Los Angeles. I cannot remember why I was there, I think I had a few meetings and some admin to sort out for the Summer Schedule, but I ended up becoming involved in an application for funding to get our members over to LA. It was a cool thing to do but definitely not what I was there for in the first place! On a related note, the outgoing Head of Marketing and his companion managed to make it over to E3, disregarding the wonderfully proof-read application, and the coverage is in full swing at http://www.insanityradio.com/e3. Sticking around in the media suite, as with any office, is probably not fantastic for your health though, with people who have been there for a long time becoming easily irritated and developing a growing affinity for the vending machine, or worse not eating at all for more than 8 hours. Whatever role you are in, please look after yourself in the office, keep hydrated and fed, and set limits for how long you stay and what you do whilst there – and this goes for all situations, within and outside student media.

A break from actively creating content for Insanity will probably be a very good thing, but that doesn’t mean that there are no shows in the next ten weeks – for a start the SU isn’t closed for all of that time and I haven’t planned my holidays around when Insanity is accessible by any means! In fact, by the magic of technology, between now and when term starts in September, there are approximately 24 hours of radio scheduled to feature my voice, on a myriad of themes from scoliosis to summer camp. Keep an eye on the Insanity Radio website to find out more about who you can hear over the summer and look out for my scoliosis special on International Scoliosis Awareness Day (25th June, 12-2pm).

Leave a Reply

